The Introduction

Hello,

My name is Kate, and I’m a 90s film addict.

I was born in the year 1990, and so like to consider myself a true child of the 90s. While my childhood was often spent rollerblading, feeding my Tamagotchi, playing Nintendo and Pogs, I also spent majority of my time hanging over my older brother’s shoulder. I would sit quietly and confused, wearing my jelly shoes, slap bracelet and tattoo choker, as he spent his weekends watching Terminator, Wayne’s World and Jurassic Park.

Films as a child were all about jokes that I didn’t understand and of course The Lion King, but as a 26-year-old procrastinator, I have come to realise that most of my favourite films stem from the great 90s. To me, nothing beats the variety that comes with 90’s film, as well as its general laid back, care-free nature. 90s film offers things that you just don’t get from most of today’s over-produced, complex films.

So, as an introduction to my blog and myself, I thought I would start by talking about my favourite films from the 90s.

 

THE FAVOURITE 90s FILMS:

 Hook (1991):

“When Captain Hook kidnaps his children, Peter Pan must return to Neverland and reclaim his youthful spirit in order to challenge his old enemy.” (IMDb)

MSDHOOK EC003

Hook to me, is Robin Williams at his finest. When I heard of Robin’s passing, Hook was the first film that came to mind.

Each time I watched Hook, I was so envious of the world of Neverland. The Lost Boys running around carefree, Rufio with his bad-ass attitude, and the only notable adult being the enemy. Life was good in Neverland.

Even better than that, was seeing Peter remember his life as a Lost Boy.

I remember vividly the scene where Peter really starts to ‘believe’ again. He can finally imagine the food in front of him. Bright, goopy, “food” is coloured red, blue, yellow and green. At the time I thought it would be the most magical, sweetest, delicious thing that anyone could ever eat. I even did a little research, and it turns out that a lot of what the actors threw around was made out of coloured Cool Whip/ Cream. Everything else that was laid out on the table was actually properly made, whether it were pies or cakes etc.

For those who really, really want to be a Lost Boy and see what some of that neon, goopy food would really taste like, I found a recipe for ‘Imagination Pie’.

http://thedessertstomach.com/2013/03/11/imagination-pie/

 

Wayne’s World (1992):

Originally adapted from a Saturday Night Live sketch by Mike Myers and Dana Carvey, “Wayne’s World is a comedy about two slacker buddies and their local-access cable TV show.” (IMDB)

4961

Wayne’s World is the first film I can actually remember watching and laughing until I cried. My bother and cousin would get together every weekend to watch it while I would sit around trying to include myself. Over time I would eventually grow old enough to understand the jokes.

Wayne’s World became a film that I then began to watch every week, sometimes even every day.

I may or may not have become a little obsessed

A friend and I once went as Wayne and Garth to a costume party. I found photos on the internet of babies dressed up as the pair, and the little one-liners found their way into my every day conversation. A ‘PARTY ON’ tattoo may even have found its way onto the arch of my foot.

My love for Wayne and Garth still lives on, although I have limited the viewings to maximum of twice per year.

Even though my obsession may have gotten a little out of hand, if it weren’t for this memorable car scene, I most likely wouldn’t know the words to Queen’s, Bohemian Rhapsody.

 

Empire Records (1995):

“The employees of an independent music store learn about each other as they try anything to stop the store being absorbed by a large chain.” (IMDb)

empirerecords

I fell in love with Empire Records because of the melodramatic script and of course A.J. (who doesn’t love A.J.?) While I didn’t actually see this film in the 90s, it is by far one of my favourite films of all time. With a raging crush on A.J. (and let’s be honest, Corey too), Empire Records became a film I watched almost daily in my late teens.

Empire Records screams ‘The 90s’ with its music, grunge and teen rebellion. The ‘will they, wont they’ love story of A.J. and Corey (Liv Tyler), tortured Debra and her dramatic head shaving, Renee Zellwegger with her bony knees and bitchy attitude, I couldn’t help but come back over and over.

Next came the love of the soundtrack which I eventually purchased when I found myself addicted to spending all of my weekly wage on Vinyl. In fact, the soundtrack ended up doing better than the actual film.

For your viewing pleasure I have provided the dancing of the one and only A.J., and of course some Rex Manning too.

“Oh Rexy, you’re so sexy.”

 

Jumanji (1995):

“When two kids find and play a magical board game, they release a man trapped for decades in it and a host of dangers that can only be stopped by finishing the game.” (IMDb)

web-ae_-jumanji-courtesy

Jumanji has, and always will completely terrify me. I was 5 years old when Jumanji was released, and only a year or two older when I first saw it. There I sat with my chicken nugget Happy Meal, on the floor of a friend’s living room, backing myself into the sofa to shield myself from the hunter. It does not matter that I am now 21 years older, or how many times I convince myself that Van Pelt is not real, I still hide behind a cushion every single time that bastard and his moustache whips out a gun.

Now is a good time to talk about the monkeys.

Yes, monkeys.

Monkeys are supposed to be cute and sweet with their dumb little hands and their bananas, but Jumanji monkeys are not sweet. If you’re not already schooled in the ways of Jumanji monkeys, I’ll tell you now; those little fuckers throw knives.  They can try and be as adorable and cheeky as they want, but I will still dream about them terrorising me in my kitchen.

Rhinoceroses thrashing through my hallway? No, thank you.

A swamp full of crocodiles in my living room? NOPE.

Man-eating flowers growing all over my house? NO FUCKING WAY.

If you too are not cool with every deadly thing that the jungle has to offer, clawing its way through your television, then maybe Jumanji is not for you either.

Here is a clip of some below average CGI monkeys destroying a lovely suburban kitchen, just so you can prepare yourself for what the rest of the film has to offer.

 

 The Craft (1996):

“A newcomer to a Catholic prep high school falls in with a trio of outcast teenage girls who practice witchcraft and they all soon conjure up various spells and curses against those who even slightly anger them.” (IMDb)

F-CTJ27351

I remember first watching The Craft late at night on a weekend, sneaking out into my living room after I had been told to go to bed. I sat right in front of the TV with the volume down low, just so I could stay up and watch until the end.

After the film finished I was left terrified. I suddenly became very aware of how dark and quiet the house was. I ran as quickly as I could, back to my room and dived under the covers into the safety of my bed. All I could think about as I lay wide awake, was of my hair falling out and snakes crawling into my room.

I didn’t watch The Craft again until I was in my early-mid teens and then became aware of just how badass these four teenagers were.

 

This list could go on and on, but for now I will save the rest of my favourites for future posts and future 90s film research.

Happy Watching!
Kate x

Leave a Reply

